The Office Staff

The Office Staff

Lynn is our office manager. Without her, we might as well give up. Wayne is our finance officer.   

Our Ruling Elders

Our Ruling Elders

Wayne, Jim, Dennis, Lee, Gary, Howard, and John. “Presbyterian” comes from the Greek word for “Elders” and refers to our understanding that the Biblical model for church government is based on oversight by a board of Elders, traditionally called the Session. The Bible gives three general responsibilities to the elders of a church: Teaching, Ruling, and Shepherding. Our Teaching Elders are the ordained clergy on the church staff who are examined by the Platte Valley Presbytery (the Teaching and Ruling Elders in our district). Our Ruling Elders are laymen, elected by the congregation and ordained to the office after being examined by the Zion Session and found to meet the requirements of 1 Timothy 3 and Titus 1.

The Deacons

The Deacons

Dwight, Paul B., Jim, Jon, Scott N., Pete, Scott W., Jeff, Lee, and Charlie.

“Deacon” is the Greek word used in the Bible for “Servant.” The Deacons manage the physical and financial possessions of the church, and implement ministries of mercy. The Zion Deacons are organized in nine ministry areas, with lead Deacons in each area:

  • Community Needs (Mercy Ministry) (Lee & Jon)

  • Congregational Care (Mercy Ministry) (Jim & Dwight)

  • Finance (Budget) (Jon & Scott W.)

  • Worship Support (formerly Helps) (Jeff & Jim)

  • Buildings (Pete & Paul B.)

  • Grounds (Paul B. & Jeff)

  • Personal Property (Pete)

  • Safety & Security (Scott W.)

  • Covenant Families (Mercy Ministry) (Dwight & Lee)

Each of our three Fellowships has 2 or 3 Elders and 3 or 4 Deacons who take primary responsibility for the care and oversight of the people in their Fellowship.